It’s beginning to look a lot like . . . December, actually

So, here’s the thing, I’m not really big on Christmas spirit.  I mean I like Elf and mulled wine and the open bar at my office party was great last year, but the whole rah rah go Santa thing is sort of lost on me.  Maybe it’ because we don’t go back to the states for Christmas (too many dollars and or pounds!), maybe it’s because we don’t ave kids, I don’t know, I just know I’m not feeling it so much this year, and haven’t for awhile.  Although, I did get a tree two Christmases ago, it was really cheap and plastic and broke while I was setting it up.

I am planning on putting decorations up around the house.  Mom gave me all my Angel bells that my Grandma K bought for me every year, so I have those.  But mostly i’m looking forward to the two long weekends that Christmas provides.

I get the 25th and 26th off as official holidays and then have taken the 29th as well.  The I get the 1st of january off and have chosen to take off the 2nd too.  And if you’re wondering how a humbug like me is planning on celebrating those gorgeus long weekends, well I’m happy to tell you how.

  1. doing jigsaw puzzles
  2. drinking bloody marys
  3. watching crappy movies
  4. making delicious foods
  5. sleeping in
  6. hanging out with jeremy and cousin oliver the cat
  7. maybe a gin and tonic or three
  8. going to harvey and paula’s NYE party (ugly jumper theme)
  9. going for walks
  10. maybe a trip or two to the pub
  11. writing my great expatriate american novel
  12. jigsaw puzzles
  13. and more sleeping

Trust me it’s a totally good way to spend some time.

3 Comments

Filed under book? what book?, the travails of living abroad

3 responses to “It’s beginning to look a lot like . . . December, actually

  1. 5of9er

    Maybe one day the Christmas holiday will mean something special to you. You have to make it your own, or just deal with it. I am not one of those over the top Christmas people, but each year when it rolls around my insides seem to cheer up. Even this year when facing unemployment… and not seeing family. Christmas seems to bring me hope of a new beginning. It’s not the presents, since my family does not exchange them. It’s not being a dad, since I’ve felt this way for a few years now.
    But I do understand why people do not like it. There are people out there who take Christmas to an unhealthy level.
    Enjoy the walks and puzzles.

  2. carolynintheuk

    it does mean something special, it means naps and sleeping in and bloody marys!

    I don’t even actively dislike Christmas, I just don’t actively like it either

  3. I f’ing love puzzles!! It sounds like you’re going to be having a good time.

Leave a Reply

