Summer summer summertime

Our Dublin trip was really nice.  I have pictures but they are still on the camera because I can’t find the cord that goes between the camera and the laptop.  Mostly they are very grey because it rained a lot.  We did lots of touristy things, of which my very favorites were the Kilmainham Jail, the book of Kells, and the Chester Beatty Library.  I only had one pint of Guinness but drank plenty of wine.  I also bought a beautiful cabled cardigan.  It’s sort of a cable sampler and buttons just once to the far left side of my chest.  I’m a little bit in love with my new cardigan.  I may marry it.

Now, obviously, we are back in London and back at work.  It has been pretty grey here as well and it makes me miss Midwestern summers a bit more than is normal.  I find myself craving the sun this summer in a way that is not at all normal for me.  I am, typically a fan of sitting in the shade and reading a book, but this year I must be craving vitamin D or something because I’ve been obsessed with being outside whenever it’s sunny.  Maybe this is a sign that I am becoming truly British?  Can’t be, I’m still wearing SPF 30 (at least) every time I go out.  If you see me seriously considering either tanning beds or full on fake tans feel free to give me a shake and remind me that I am a pale American and that I would look peculiar and orange with any sort of tan.

The Sicily trip is beginning to shape up.  We will definitely be spending time in Catania, Agrigento and Palermo.  In Agrigento we’re hoping to stay at an agrtiturismo where they sell donkey’s milk.  Donkey’s milk!  We were going to stay at an agriturismo in Enna, near Piazza Armerina, but the reviews on TripAdvisor were not so great so now we are looking elsewhere.  The current plan is to go four place and spend three nights in each, but that could easily change. 

Also, after many recommendations from many friends, we rented the first season of The Wire and are almost finished with it.  Holy crap, it’s good!  I am in love with both McNulty and Freamon.  It was a slow start but now I can’t wait to get to the rest of the seasons to see what happens and how everything develops.  Also I need to check out some books by Pelekanos.  Crime fiction may very well be my new frontier.  Speaking of, Megan Abbott writes some really great noir style fiction about Hollywood in the late 40’s and 50’s.  If you like that sort of thing, you should check her books out.  I  haven’t read Queenpin yet but I really liked the other two.

3 Comments

Filed under america, culture it up, literatures, the travails of living abroad, travel

3 responses to “Summer summer summertime

  1. keri

    the rest of the wire is going to make your head explode! enjoy!

  2. stevie

    i loved the chester beatty library too! what a nice hidden gem of a museum.

Leave a Reply

