Brought to you by The GoGos

I’ve had Vacation stuck in my head all weekend long, when-ever I haven’t been listening to Yann Tiersen on Spotify.  Only melan-choly French indie pop can save me from my impatience.  But it’s time for me to go.  Vacation starts on Thursday, how am I supposed to function as contributing member of society until then?

I just want to be in Italy already.  While folding laundry this weekend I created a dedicated vacation stack so I don’t accidentally wear any of my vacation clothes between now and Thursday morning.  We also have a dedicated stack of books and papers on the dining room table with all our maps and hotel info and EasyJet boarding passes.  Vacation reading has been neatly piled next to the bookshelf (The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wa, Secret Lives of Moths, The Lost Book of Salem, Bruce Campbell’s autobiography, and maybe The Yiddish Policeman’s Union and Certain Girls as well).  Oliver watchers have been arranged, before we go I will change my voicemail message to let people know that he has returned to us safely in case anyone sees him and calls to let us know (we had two such calls this weekend alone).  My staff at work have been informed that they may only call me, on Jeremy’s phone, if there is a bona fide emergency, involving blood, fire, famine or some other certifiable mayhem, otherwise they should expect to be sworn at in ways they had never before imagined. A new travel journal has been purchased, small enough to fit in my bag but big enough that we don’t have to write in tiny cramped handwriting, it has a kicky image of 1970’s stewardesses and aeroplane passengers.  Addresses have been collected in my Moleskine address book (just like what Hemingway used!) so that postcards may be sent.  Speaking of if you want one and haven’t spoken up already be sure to send me your address.  My grandparents will probably get two, but that’s because I am trying belatedly to be a better grand-daughter.  Everyone else will probably just get one, I am good enough for them already.

All of this is to say, I am ready.  Get here faster Thursday.  It is time to go!

1 Comment

Filed under travel

One response to “Brought to you by The GoGos

  1. keri

    Woo hoo! I got my postcard this morning. Thanks so much, a real bright spot to my day! Hope you’re having fun.

Leave a Reply

