Poetry, for a change

I know it is Autumn and this poem is about the spring, but I thought of it today while I was walking across the park to my bus stop.  I think because the trees were bright reds and golds and that made me think about William Blake seeing angels (which he did in the park I was crossing) and then I thought of this because it is a poem that I love and it talks about trees in full colour.  Even if Williams is talking about the colour of the flowers rather than their last days before winter.

Anyhow, I love this poem even though (or maybe because) it always makes me sad. 

The Widow’s Lament in Springtime – William Carlos Williams

Sorrow is my own yard
where the new grass
flames as it has flamed
often before but not
with the cold fire
that closes round me this year.
Thirtyfive years
I lived with my husband.
The plumtree is white today
with masses of flowers.
Masses of flowers
load the cherry branches
and color some bushes
yellow and some red
but the grief in my heart
is stronger than they
for though they were my joy
formerly, today I notice them
and turn away forgetting.
Today my son told me
that in the meadows,
at the edge of the heavy woods
in the distance, he saw
trees of white flowers.
I feel that I would like
to go there
and fall into those flowers
and sink into the marsh near them.

1 Comment

Filed under literatures

One response to “Poetry, for a change

  1. Pingback: Something not related to laziness, for a change | I am not a reliable narrator

Leave a Reply

