Road trip!

A good friend is planning on getting married in Durham, NC this coming June.  She mentioned it to me and I mentioned it to Jeremy and then said, you know maybe we could take a couple weeks and go for a road trip?

And then didn’t say anything else.  Because you don’t wanna play all your cards at once, you know?  First you lay down an interesting one and then you wait, just a little.

So I came home from work last night and said, ‘You know, if we were to do a road trip this summer, maybe we could go to Nashville.’

And I knew I was on to a winner when he said, ‘Yeah I was thinking the same thing, and maybe New Orleans too.’

And then I was like, ‘Dollywood?  I’ve never been to Dollywood, and that’s just wrong.  We’d probably have to pack some granola bars for you though, I don’t think they cater to vegetarians at Dollywood.’

And while he wasn’t as excited as I was about Dollywood there was still a glimmer of interest.  So where else should we go?  I haven’t seen a whole lot of the south save for a trip to South Carolina when I was a kid and a bus ride to Florida with the BRMM in 1995.  Any William Faulkner or Flannery O’Connor themed sites I should know about?  And Harper Lee, I know she’s a recluse, but she’d want to meet me wouldn’t she?  Where’s she live? 

 

5 Comments

Filed under america, marital relations, travel

5 responses to “Road trip!

  1. New York City’s not that far either.

  2. Oh I am seriously jealous. WF, Flannery…ah!

  3. If you take a road trip around the south, then I’m totally meeting you somewhere along the way.

    You HAVE to go to Oxford, MS – hometown to William Faulkner.

    You should also hit Memphis and the Stax Museum of Soul Music.

    • carolynintheuk

      I was going to say “and I am going to make Alannah cook for me” but I didn’t want you to feel pressured 🙂 I’ll let you know what our plans are and see what we can work out closer to the time

      Oxford, MS will be added to the itinerary and Memphis has already been added but we couldn’t remember why we wanted to go there

  4. H

    While in Memphis you must go to Graceland. It is an American road trip Mecca. And if you can, get a hotel room near Beale Street & spend all night listening to a ton of blues & rock bands & drinking your self silly. They shut the street down & it is a mad, brilliant good time. Oh. And while down south, do not ignore the siren-like call of The Waffle King. Diner bliss.

Leave a Reply

