It’s almost depressing to rehash vacation a week after the fact.  Especially seeing as my first week back was kind of tumultuous.  A part of me doesn’t want to talk about it anymore.  I liked it so much that the retelling almost takes something away.

I’m going to hold off on doing a full recap of the 2nd and third week, I’ll just tell you it was fun and, despite driving over 2000 miles, relaxing. We saw waterfalls along the Blue Ridge Parkway, toured Graceland, went to a couple awesome bars in Memphis, ate fried chicken good enough to make the world stop in Charleston, met Michiganders in Savannah, attended a really lovely wedding in Durham, saw tons of friends in Chicago, family in Indiana and a corner of Michigan, and so much more.

It’s not that there aren’t lots of good stories to tell, there are loads and loads, it’s just that thinking about all of them right now makes me feel even more melancholy than normal.  So, I think I’ll hold off for the moment.

Just know this.  Graceland is possibly the most awesome place in the world (although I did not make it to Dollywood) and someday I too will have a Jungle Room.  Believe it.

Aside to Alannah, I am sorry not to have gotten in touch with you before we left, but it looked like Memphis was just the wrong side of too far away from where you are for us to meet up easily, especially considering how busy you’ve been lately.

Leave a comment

Filed under america, dorking it up, travel

Leave a Reply

