Days go by

Tomorrow I have to wake up at 4:30 to get the bus by 5 to get my niece to the airport by 7 to get her flight back to Detroit by 9.  She’s staying up all night, I am going to try to catch a few hours of sleep though since I will still be working for a half day on Wednesday. 

Tonight we’ll be seeing The Lion King.  Today she’s checking out Oxford Circus and will probably spend the last of her vacation cash at Primark where all the clothes are well cheap, yeah.

In a week she starts university which is weird, because a week ago, maybe two, she was only about 5 and now she’s this nearly grown up person.  That said she is a nearly grown up person who bought a Pokemon poster on Saturday (and a Robert Pattinson poster too.  Are there support groups for relatives of Twi-hards? Something like alanon but related to sparkle vamps?) but still nearly a grown up!  Very scary. 

It’s been fun having her around and hearing her thoughts on everything from our hometown to the evils of wearing black and navy blue together.  Of course I am also looking forward to being able to walk around the house in my undercrackers again but that’s how I feel whenever I get to the end of having a houseguest.

The rest of the week will be spent working and catching up on sleep and maybe some debauchery at the weekend.  But probably not too much.  I need a rest after touring all the most crowded corners of London.  Also I’d like to spend some time with Old Blue the typewriter while I listen to the Cyndi Lauper greatest hits double CD I just bought (and maybe the new Arcade Fire and Janelle Monae too).  And maybe I’ll make waffles again.  I’m getting pretty good at making waffles these days.  But I might just go out for a fry up.  That involves less cleaning.

Leave a comment

Filed under dorking it up, homely

Leave a Reply

