Bank Holiday Overload

It’s the end of summer bank holiday this weekend.  This means that Monday is a stay at home and stay away from work day.  I took off Friday and Tuesday as well, because that is how I roll.

When I made the decision to take off these days I saw the whole weekend as an empty expanse of time.  A treasure of a blank five-day weekend.  Then everything changed.  First we decided to replace the fencing in our back garden.  No big, it’s a tiny garden.  Then two people sent out birthday party invites.  Then there was an opening at a gallery we like.  Then the pub down the road announced they were having a boot fair in the ballroom (boot fair = craft fair / rummage sale in American), then another party was announced for Friday night, THEN I got an email from a friend announcing that I was expected to play Rounders  (a game which makes absolutely no discernible sense at all) on Monday.

What the fuck dudes?  I mean it!  I know this probably sounds miserable of me, you’re all like, oh poor Carolyn her life is so hard, she’s just TOO damn popular.  But for real, I just wanted to buy some full fat milk for my coffee that I would drink whilst sitting in the corner of the second bedroom whilst trying to write a goddamn book and all these jerks (aka my really awesome and wonderful friends) keep planning really awesome and wonderful sounding events.  Maybe if I just don’t sleep until Tuesday I’ll have time for everything?

2 Comments

Filed under book? what book?, dorking it up, garden, Sports? Really?

2 responses to “Bank Holiday Overload

  1. Jools

    Hi there, have just discovered your blog and love it big time! thanks so much

    I think you are south london based and wondered if you had stubbled upon these lovely free out door movies this weekend

    I picked it up from transpontine…..

    Nunhead & Peckham Free Film Festivals
    If you’ve ever fancied watching a vampire film on top of a car park in Peckham, you are in luck this weekend. Actually there are lots of free outdoor cinematic delights to be had as part of the Nunhead Free Film Festival and the Peckham Free Film Festival running from 8 to 12 September.

    At the Nunhead end, it kicks off with World War II film A Matter of Life and Death being shown in Nunhead Cemetery on Friday 10th at 8 pm, followed by a film-themed dance night at the Old Nun’s Head. The next day Blues Brothers is being shown in Peckham Rye park by the cafe.

    In Peckham it starts on Thursday 9th (8.30 pm) at the lovely Centre for Wildlife Gardening (28 Marsden Road, SE15) with Koyaannisqatsi – great Philip Glass soundtrack.

    And yes, it ends on Sunday 12th with Nosferatu at Frank’s Cafe on top of Peckham car park (Cerise Road, SE15).

    • carolynintheuk

      Thanks Jools! I have heard about these and plan on attending the movie in the cemetary tonight and the Blues Brothers on Peckham Common tomorrow for sure. And maybe Nosferatu on Sunday too.

Leave a Reply

