Bad Acoustics

I always forget about Koko.  I forget that it is a bad venue.  I forget that the acoustics there are total crap and that they make even the best bands sound muddled and lousy.  Do you see where I’m going with this?  I’ll tell you where I’m going, I’m going to a disappointed place because the Yann Tiersen show was not nearly as good as the last time I saw him.

I can only blame the venue so much for this though, given that the last time I saw him was at the Butlins in Minehead in a space that smelled of hotdogs, old cigarettes and stale spilled beer.  He didn’t have a full band with him so there was no saw player, which might sound like a nitpicky thing to complain about, but seriously, it’s not the same recorded.  And his newer music was a lot more guitar based and I prefer the lusher more heavily orchestrated stuff.

So yeah, it wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t as good either. 

In other news, the doctors are now saying that my father may not have ARDS at all, seeing as he is not responding normally to treatment (he just HAS to be weird doesn’t he?) and they are pursuing other possibilities, one of which is a specific type of pneumonia caused by a fungus found in bat droppings. This is apparently not so far-fetched seeing as he has traveled to South America a few times in the last 3 years and had to clean bat leavings off the siding of my parents’ house in the last couple years.  So, yeah, guano may be the root cause of this whole ordeal.    Hopefully there will be news regarding this later today.

Leave a comment

Filed under health (or lack thereof), Musics

Leave a Reply

