Childhood Obsessions

REM have a new album out.
I haven’t bought amything from them since Up, which is an okay album at best, despite the fact that they were my first favourite band and despite the fact that I still love a lot of their music.
I can still remember the exact moment I fell for this band. I was in the 7th grade, so proably about 12, doing my math homework at the kitchen table and I was hating every minute of it. So when my brother walked into the room I asked him if I could listen to one of his tapes. I didn’t care which one and I don’t honestly think I believed he would take pity on me and say yes (he was generally more interested in prolonging any suffering I happened to be experiencing) but say yes he did and he went into his room and brought me back a copy of Green.
And I was hooked. This isn’t even my favourite album of their’s anymore (tie between Life’s Rich Pageant and Automatic for the People, I think, this changes depending on mood) but it always holds a special spot in my heart.
REM were my gateway band. They started me on a road towards the independent music that would slowly begin to fill my collection, this despite the fact that Green was their first major label release.

But everything from Monster on has left me feeling sort of meh. I didn’t bother with their last album even though it got good reviews. I don’t know if that was more laziness or skepticism. Maybe both?
It’s not that I don’t think they can still make good music, I’m sure they can. I think it’s more that I wish I could hear them for the first time again, which isn’t really fair, but that doesn’t make it any less true.

ETA Oh but now this guy at the AV Club said it all better than me.  Whatever AV Club.

Leave a comment

Filed under Memory lane, Musics

Leave a Reply

